122 Pages

You can change the print size of this book

New Poems


Gain access to the library to view online
Learn more


First published in 1907, “New Poems” is a collection of poems by Francis Thompson. The poems include: “The Mistress of Vision”, “Contemplation”, “'By Reason of Thy Law'”, “The Dread of Height”, “Orient Ode”, “New Year’s Chimes”, “From the Night of Forebeing”, “Any Saint”, “Assumpta Maria”, “The After Woman”, “Grace of the Way”, “Retrospect”, etc. Francis Thompson (1859–1907) was an English mystic and poet. Thompson went to medical school when he was 18, but left home at the age of 26 to pursue a life of writing. He was homeless for three years, becoming an opium addict and supporting himself through whatever means available. A married couple read his poetry and took him into their home 1888, and in 1893 he published his first book, “Poems”. Other notable works by this author include: “The Poppy” (1893), “Sister Songs” (1895), and “Shelley” (1909). A fantastic collection of poetry will appeal to all lovers of the form and is not to be missed by those who have read and enjoyed other work by Thompson. This classic work is being republished now in a new edition complete with a chapter from Benjamin Franklin Fisher's “Francis Thompson, Essays” (1917).



Published by
Published 26 May 2020
Reads 0
EAN13 9781528789813
Language English
Document size 1 MB

Legal information: rental price per page 0.0015€. This information is given for information only in accordance with current legislation.