The Comment Awards 2010 Winners Announcedx
2 Pages

The Comment Awards 2010 Winners Announcedx


Downloading requires you to have access to the YouScribe library
Learn all about the services we offer


EE ddii ttoorriiaall IInntteelllliiggeennccee aannnnoouunnccteehsse winners of Th e C omment Awards 20a1t0 RIBA, London. w w w . w ww . ed it or stLondon, 2 1October 2010. Editorial Intelligence, the media, analysis and wnoertking business (, has announced the winners of The Comment Awards 2010, celebrating the work of the finest print oanldin e commentators and tehir editors over the past year t–h e second of their kind in the UK following tahueg uinral Comment Awards in 2009. The winners of the 13 caoteriges, and the Chair’s Choice awa, rwdere announced over a champagne breakfast at RIBA, London this morning firnont ofo ver 200 guests including the shortlisted candidates, category judges and a ploertah of opinion formers across media, polit ics, business, academia and public life. The ceremony was hosted by socicaol mmentator and ei associate Peter York and attedn dbey Chair of the Jugdes Baroness Helena Kennedy Q.C Category judges included Diane Abbott M,P Shadow Minister for Public Hea;lt hGreg Hands MP, Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Chancellofr tohe Exchequer; Sir John Hegarty, Chairm anaanndd WWoorrllddwwiiddee DDiirreeccttoorr ooff BBaarrttllee BBooggllee HHeeggaarrttyy;; iiddDD aaRRvvoowwaann,, EEddiittoorr,, iWWred UK;; NNiiggeell MMccNNeellllyy ,, MD, Opus Corporate Finance anLLduu kkee SSyyssoonn,, HHeeaaddo f ...



Published by
Reads 23
Language English
 EditorialIntelligencannouncesthe winners of  TheCommentAw rds2010 at RIBA, London. entawards.comwww.editor alintelligence.comst London, 21October 2010. EditorialIntelligence,themedia,analysisandnetworkingbusiness(, hasnnounced thewinnersofTheCommentAwards2010,celebratingtheworkofthefine tprintandonlinecommentatorsandtheiredit rsover the past year – thesecondofthe rkindintheUKfollowingtheinauguralComme tAwards in 2009. The winners of the 13 categories,andheChair’sChoiceaward, wereannouncedoverachampagnebreakfastatRIBA,Londonthismorninginfrontofover200guestsincludingtheshortlistedcandidates,categoryjudgeandaplethoraofopinionformersacrossmedi ,politics,business, academia and public life. The ceremony was hosted by social commentatorandeiassociatePeterYorkandatte dedbyChair of the JudgesBaronessHelenaK nnedyQC. CategoryjudgesincludedDianeAbbotMP, Shadow Minister for Public Health;GregH ndsMP,ParliamentaryPrivateSecretarytotheChancelloroftheExchequer;SirJohnHegarty,hairman andWorldwideDirectorofBartleBoglHegarty;DavidRowan,Editor,Wired UK;NigelMcNelly,MD, Opus Corporate Finance and LukSyson,Headof Research, National Gallery. The Comment Awardswereheldinas ociationwithleadawardspartnerJaguarLandover,corporatepartnerBarclays,andcateg rysponsorsaslistedbelow. forfurtherinformationonourcategoryjudgesandsponsors. The Comment Awards 2010 – Winner Best Comment Pages –Sponsor dbytheeiDigest  Winner:The Times Commentariat of the Year –Sp nsoredbyJaguarLandRover  Winner:Simon Jenkins,TheGu rdianandLondonEveningStandard Best Blogger –SponsoredbyRa eOnline2012  Winner:Nick Robinson,BBC Best Blog Site –SponsoredbyT lkAboutAutism  Winner:Comment is free,Theuardian and The Observer
Cultural Commentatorred– SponsbySomerset House Trust  Winner:Mark Lawson,TheGua dian Best Diary Page– SponsoredbyAtlanticBooks Winner:Londoner’s Diary,LondonEveningStandardEnvironment Commentator– SonsoredbyGreenThing( Winner:Johann Hari,The Independent Financial Commentator– SponoredbyNationwide  Winner:Anatole Kaletsky,Theimes Foreign Commentator– SponsoredbytheBritishCouncil  Winner:Gideon Rachman,Fina cialTimes Magazine Commentator(inclu ingtrademedia,weekliesand monthlies)-Sponsored by the APA Winner:Christopher Hitchens,anityFair Media Commentator– SponsordbyBT Winner:Jeff Jarvis,TheGuardia Political Commentator– SponsredbyWeberShandwick Winner:Daniel Finkelstein,TheTimes Westminster Villager(Politicalketch)Sponsored by Policy Exchange Winner:Quentin Letts,DailyM il Chair’s Choice –ChosenbyBaronessHelenaKennedyQC alone,asChairoftheJ dges Winner:Simon Kelner,TheIndependent ENDSFor more inforation,pleasecontactLucyTatton-Brown /DL: 020 7759 1853Notes to Editors: 1) EditorialIntelligenceisamedia,analysisandnetworkingbusinesswhich runs anopinionformernetworkincluding a range of thoughtleaderevents– the ei Club - forindividualsandcorporateembersalike,andhasavariedannualspecialeventsnd 2) Furtherdetails for the TheC mmentAwards2010includingeligibilityandjudgingcriteriaareon– 31stJuly2010inclusive.  3)ThejudgingprocesshasbeenmonitoredforfairnessbyBaronessHelenaKennedyQCaschairofthejudges. 4)Awardspartner:JaguarLandover;corporatepartner:Barclays;categorysponsorsincludeAPA,Atlantic Books, British Council, BT, the eiDig st,GreenThing,Nationwide,PolicyExchange,RaceOnline2012,SomersetHouseTrust, Talk About Autism andWeberShandwick.