Are You Confused about the Critical Cs of Buying Diamond Jewelry
2 Pages
Downloading requires you to have access to the YouScribe library
Learn all about the services we offer

Are You Confused about the Critical Cs of Buying Diamond Jewelry


Downloading requires you to have access to the YouScribe library
Learn all about the services we offer
2 Pages


A Diamond Jewelry Buying Guide! - Free articles and useful resources for buying jewelry like diamond jewelry, diamond rings and necklaces etc.. Check out:



Published by
Reads 124
Language English


Are You Confused about the Critical C’s of Buying Diamond Jewelry?
You may have heard of the four C’s of buying diamond jewelry, but are you
aware of the other 2 which lead to
big problems? The four C’s your jeweler is
going to talk about are Clarity, Cut, Color, and Carats. These four items
determine the value of the gem, but the other two C’s are the ones many
jeweler’s count on using to close the sale. The two mystery C’s
are certificates
and confusion.
Certificates issued by AGS
American Gem Society or by the GIA
The Gemological Institute of America
are important
. These certificates are intended to give you a clear understanding of the four C’s of the
diamond you are considering. The problem, do you understand how to read the certificate? If you are
unclear of the meaning of the terms the jeweler can use a certificate to add to your confusion causing
you to waste money and purchase an inferior stone.
Learn the Four
C’s to
Avoid Confusion and Diamond Buying Mistakes:
The style of cut is not as important as the quality of the cut. Each diamond is unique and a highly
skilled diamond cutter uncovers the perfect cut for each gem. The quality of cut is determined by the
amount of reflected light which exits the top of the stone. Too deep or too shallow and the light
escapes the bottom of the diamond. Cut determines the flash and brilliance of the diamond.
Is determined by a gemologist by close examination through a microscope. The gemologist
seeks imperfections in the stone. Most diamonds have small inclusions which include cloudiness,
crystals, feathers, or dark spots. Any of these flaws, or inclusions, decreases the purity of the diamond.
They reduce the diamonds ability to pass light. An F rating is Flawless, with IF being Internally Flawless.
These two grades are ideal, but will add to the cost of your diamond purchase. (They also contribute to
the long-term value of your diamond, too.)
The color of your diamond can range from colorless to fancy. Colorless is clear, transparent,
with no visible color. At the other end of the scale, Fancy
indicates you will see definite color. These colors may range
from blue, yellow, pink, or other hues in between. If anyone
tries to tell you a blue or pink diamond is rare and valuable
you can be confident they are working on the confusion
principle of diamond sales. Colorless is the highest value.
When you buy diamond jewelry, look for color grades
ranging from D to J. These diamonds are colorless to nearly
The weight of your diamond. Do NOT be convinced
the weight of the diamond is the only or most important
factor in buying diamond jewelry. Two diamonds of equal carats can have wildly different prices based
upon cut, clarity, and color. Prices increase rapidly as carat sizes increase. Small diamonds are easy to
find, while large gems are rare.
With this brief introduction you can avoid confusion when reading a diamond certificate. You can learn
. Keep in mind both the GIA and AGS only rate un-mounted diamonds, but often jewelers
have the certificate for the diamonds mounted in the jewelry. To get a deeper understanding and to
assure you make the best purchase visit The Diamond Jewelry Buying Guide, an outstanding free
resource for diamond shoppers. Do not consider
buying diamond jewelry
without the guide.